The Royal Thai Government has approved the extension of the visa-on-arrival fee waiver for citizens of 20 countries until 30 April 2019.

Previously, the exemption of the visa-on-arrival fee was scheduled to end on 13 January.

The extension will be a welcome move for those looking to visit Thailand for Chinese New Year in February and to enjoy the Thai New Year (Songkran) in April.

Yuthasak Supasorn, governor of the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT), said: “This year, the Chinese New Year official opening ceremony will be held at Siam Square, one of the most popular shopping areas in Bangkok. We aim to attract more of the younger generation to enjoy the traditional performances.”

Every year, China sends more than 100 traditional Chinese dancers and musicians, martial artists, Chinese opera performers and acrobats from several cities in a cultural exchange. In addition to the opening ceremony, typically held at Bangkok’s Yaowarat (China Town), performances are also held in key cities around Thailand where Chinese New Year is celebrated in grand style. In return, TAT organises education tours of Thailand for the performers.

Online E-Visas

Thailand is also set to introduce online tourist visas. These e-visas will start with residents of Beijing, China on 15 February 2019 and be gradually rolled out to other cities in China. Residents of the United Kingdom and France will also be able to get e-visas from 1 March and 1 April 2019, respectively.

More details on this to come.